The Botanical Gardens is part of the National Parks, Rivers and Beaches Authority and is overseen by the Director of National Parks, who reports to the National Parks Board.

The National Parks Board

The Board has the following powers and functions (from the National Parks Act 2002):

  • to advise the Ministry on policy with respects to preserving, protecting and managing national parks and protected areas
  • to monitor and discuss the conditions of national parks and protected areas and to advise the Ministry accordingly
  • to advise the Ministry as to the provision and improvement of facilities for persons visiting nationals parks and protected areas
  • in so far as it appears desirable to the Board, to encourage and advise the carrying out of such work as may be necessary to facilitate the use of the sea within certain marine parks for sailing, boating, diving, baiting, or fishing
  • to collaborate with the Ministry in the preparation and implementation of a terrestrial national park and protected areas development plan
  • to fix, charge and receive fees and charges for a facility or other services or amenities provided by the Authority and to reduce, waive or refund such fees and charge so fixed, generally or in any particular case or class of case

Board members

  • Mr Gideon Nash – Chairman
  • CEO of SVG Tourism Authority - Mr Glen Beache - Deputy Chairman
  • Director General of Finance and Planning, or nominee
  • Chairperson of the SVG National Trust - Ms Louise Mitchell Joseph
  • Medical Officer of Health
  • Commissioner of Police, or nominee
  • Chamber of Industry and Commerce - Mr Andrew Woodroffe
  • NGO Representative and Environmentalist - Mr Walter Child
  • Environmentalist - Mr Clairmond Derrick
  • Director of Forestry - Mr Fitzgerald Providence
  • Head of Physical Planning Department
  • Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Tourism, Sports and Culture, or nominee - Mrs Laverne Grant



Government of SVG



Contact the gardens

Telephone: (1 784) 4935824